UAC "Training"

Bigaldoc
PlatinumLounger

UAC "Training"

Post by Bigaldoc »

I guess I'm not too good at Lounge searching because I thought this topic was discussed here and I can't seem to find it.

Ever since my admittedly minimal use of Windows 7, I've not touched the UAC controls and just put up with the repeated prompts for permission. But I thought I read somewhere here where the UAC will "train" itself somehow. That's not happening for me.

Over and over, when I run programs that I installed, like Revo, PSP, etc. I get the UAC permissions prompt. Aside from turning it off, which I don't want to do, how can I tell UAC that it's OK to run Revo and stop bothering me on it?

HansV
Administrator

Re: UAC "Training"

Post by HansV »

You can't "train" UAC. If it's turned on, it will put up a prompt each time you start an application that may modify system files. This is by design - otherwise an infected program would be able to run silently...
(See the thread "Run as Administrator")
Best wishes,
Hans

Bigaldoc
PlatinumLounger

Post by Bigaldoc »

Thanks Hans. Yes, I think it WAS that thread where I got the impression in a post from DaveA that the UAC would "quiet down" after awhile.

I'm not as gutsy as Viking and am not gonna turn it off. Push comes to shove, I can live with it. It is somewhat annoying to run the same program, time after time, day after day, and always be asked if it's OK to run it.

agibsonsw
SilverLounger

Post by agibsonsw »

FWIW I wanted to contribute my belated opinion on UAC:

For someone on a work-PC it should probably remain 'on'. They are probably already restricted as to what they can download or install, so they won't see UAC notices very often and are, therefore, more likely to be wary if they do receive a notice/warning;