Windows 7 Updates - DISABLE?

ChrisGreaves
PlutoniumLounger

Windows 7 Updates - DISABLE?

Post by ChrisGreaves »

Short of throwing my DELL laptop under a number 6 Bay Street TTC bus on my way home tonight, is there a way of really disabling Windows Updates?

I went to do a system restore the other day and discovered that Windows has been cheating on me - to my face!
AutoRestorePoints.png
AutoRestorePoints02.png
Sheeesh! Look at all those restore points cluttering up my hard drive.
And perhaps this is why internet access seems so slooooooow some days at the library?
I have Updates turned OFF since day one on this machine - I do update, but I like to run tests on a stable platform.

Any ideas?

I'm not against updates; I'm just against them happening behind my back.

(signed) "Getting closer to Apple by the day" of Toronto
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
I’ve been tidying the junk out of my shed for five years, and now can hardly get into the shed

HansV
Administrator

Re: Windows 7 Updates - DISABLE?

Post by HansV »

I think updates to Windows Update itself are always installed, even if you have turned off automatic updates - you could be in serious trouble if you wanted to install recent updates with an outdated version of Windows Update.

Windows 7 creates an automatic restore point if none has been made for about a week, either manually or because of installing software. So there should never be more than a week (approximately) between subsequent restore points.
Best wishes,
Hans

ChrisGreaves
PlutoniumLounger

Post by ChrisGreaves »

HansV wrote:I think updates to Windows Update itself are always installed, even if you have turned off automatic updates - you could be in serious trouble if you wanted to install recent updates with an outdated version of Windows Update.